Artists

Katrin Glanz: Hellersdorfer Tanzplatz
Open dance event. Place Internationale and Kastanienboulevard, May – September 2017

Dance unites people, opens hearts and breaks down language barriers. Diverse places in Hellerdorf will be temporarily transformed into a place for residents and guests to dance and celebrate its internationality.

Dates are sundays from 15–18h:
28.5.2017 Place Internationale south (Maxie-Wander-Straße)
18.6.2017 Place Internationale northeast (Carola-Neher-Straße)
17.9.2017 Kastanienboulevard, in front of derelict shopping mall

Katrin Glanz, born 1967 in Berlin, studied art at the Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee and at the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux–Arts Paris. Her work continually poses the question „How should we live (together)?“(performance in 2015). With her temporary interventions and dialogical performances of recent years, the Berlin artist looks into this question using open project formats. They are mostly interactive and require the participation of the recipient. In addition, Katrin Glanz’s works consciously intervene in our post-modern daily routines by presenting diverse pragmatic alternatives to the reality of neo-liberalism. (Raimar Stange)
katringlanz.de


Claude Gomis & Saskia Köbschall: Laboratorium der Solidarität
Installation. U5 Kaulsdorf-Nord station (footbridges), October 2016 – October 2017
Public discourse. station urbaner kulturen, January 2017

Knowledge about solidarity and coexistence around Kaulsdorf-Nord station will be generated with residents and experts. The political, visual and discursive landscape will be examined. Which forms of anti-racist solidarity exist? What do the solidarity movements in the DDR with the fight against apartheid and with Vietnam’s people mean for coexistence today?

Claude Gomis is a musician and artist born in Dakar (Senegal), living in New York City (USA). He grew up as a dancer and percussionist touring with his father Rudy Gomis who founded the Orchestra Baobab. Having studied at École Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Dakar he moved to New York and toured with bands like Midnite and Sadao Watanabe. He has made two solo albums, combining traditional Senegalese music with jazz, afrobeat and blues.

Saskia Köbschall is a Berlin-born cultural manager, curator and anthropologist and the manager of the non-profit art space SAVVY Contemporary Berlin. She completed her graduate studies at the New School for Social Research in New York as a Fulbright scholar. The main focus of her work is the reappraisal of colonial history and its impact on the present day, contextualised in contemporary art projects.
savvy-contemporary.com


Laura Horelli: Namibia Today
Posters. U5 Schillingstraße (platform), February – October 2017

Billboards with cover of the newspaper ‚Namibia Today’ from the 1970ies and 1980ies refer to Germany’s colonial history and Berlin’s East-West context. Back then, East Germany had strong political ties to the publisher SWAPO (South West Africa People’s Organisation) and to Namibia. The newspaper was printed by ‚Fortschritt’ printers in Erfurt.

Laura Horelli (*1976 Helsinki, Finland) lives and works in Berlin. Her works, mainly video films, explore the intersection of the private and public spheres. She attended the Academy of Fine Arts Helsinki, Department of Time and Space, MA (2001) and Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule, Frankfurt/M, Thomas Bayrle’s class, Meisterschülerin (2002). She has participated in several biennales, including Momentum, Norway (2013), Ars, Kiasma, Helsinki (2001, 2011), Biennale di Venezia (2001, 2009), Manifesta 5, San Sebastian (2004) and has had solo exhibitions at Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2014), Berlinische Galerie (2013), Neuer Berliner Kunstverein n.b.k. (2011), Goethe-Institut, Nairobi (2010) and Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck (2004). Her works are regularly shown in film festivals like Kasseler Dokfest (2013), Transmediale (2013, 2012), CPH:DOXS (2009) and Diagonale, Graz (2009). Horelli’s latest film »Jokinen« will be shown at the 67th Berlinale Forum Expanded, parallel to the exhibition »Namibia Today« as part of Kunst im Untergrund/Art in the Underground nGbK Berlin. Horelli was a visiting professor for moving image and photography at the University of Fine Arts, Berlin in 2007. In 2011 she received the Hannah Höch Prize for Young Artists from the City of Berlin. She was awarded a 5-year working grant by the Arts Promotion Centre Finland in 2012. Horelli is represented by Galerie Barbara Weiss, Berlin.
laurahorelli.com


Anna Kowalska: Endlich zuhause?
A project about an architectural competition 1994 for the housing estate »Alte Hellersdorferstraße«
Exhibition, performance and installation. station urbaner kulturen, Alte Hellersdorferstraße, Kastanienboulevard, October 2016 – October 2017

The architects Lucien & Simone Kroll’s experimental designs from 1994 for rebuilding the »Alte Hellersdorferstraße« estate will be examined with current residents and with participants back then. Which of the architectural competition’s criteria remain today? Which utopias for the qualities of life on large estates? Which self-determination?

Anna Kowalska is a visual artist, writer and translator. She studied anthropology in Vienna and photography at the School for Artistic Photography of Friedl Kubelka. She works with the medium of photography exploring the public space, architecture, history and memory of cities. Participation in projects and exhibitions (selection): Post-Diasporas: Voyages and Missions, curated by Olga Kopenkina, Moscow Biennal 2005; On the tectonics of history, exhibition tour (2005 – 2009) curated by A. Domesle und M. Krenn; Structural Violence (Video), with Simone Bader, Wien 2000. Art residencies in Japan, Italy und Germany.


Diana Lucas-Drogan: Die Haut von Hellersdorf
Exhibition, workshops and performances. station urbaner kulturen and public space, September 2016 – October 2017
Blog

The rights and non-rights to civic participation of refugees in Hellersdorf will be examined with the Alice Salomon University of Applied Sciences and the refugee home on Carola-Neher-/Maxie-Wander-Str. The problems of the prevailing processes and their representation will be discussed. The administrative procedures will be translated onto clothes.

Diana Lucas-Drogan works as an mapping-artist and architect in Vienna and Berlin. She founded the magazine »Stadtaspekte« and holds lectures and workshops about performative-embodied mapping at different universities. Her interdisciplinary work starts with qualitative spatial research methods and involves agents of the field and the reflection of the body. Since 2012 her artistic research has focused on flight, migration and the transformation of cities and landscapes.
lucasvandrogan.tumblr.com
hautvonhellersdorf.tumblr.com


Ellen Nonnenmacher and Eva Randelzhofer: Wildwuchs & Ordnung
Happenings, installation. Place Internationale, station urbaner kulturen, pavillon on Kastanienboulevard and further public places between IGA and U5, April – October 2017

Plant seeds will be collected, exchanged, disseminated and watered as a collective act. The dissemination of wild plant seeds in newly ordered urban developments along the U5 line will broach current discussions on the themes of empowerment ‚from below’, ownership and redistribution.

Ellen Nonnenmacher lives and works as an artist and graphic designer in Berlin. She studied Fine Arts at the HfbK Hamburg and was co-founder of the women artist collectives frauen•und•technik, -Innen und OldBoysNetwork. She designed board games playing with the topics virus and epidemy, global water resources and data security with Helene von Oldenburg. Her artistic projects in schools have focused her interest on participatory practice.

Eva Randelzhofer lives and works as a freelance artist and art mediator in Berlin. In her work she develops creative systems in formats like painting, installation or participatory workshops. Her interventions make spatial and systemical changes tangible and visible.
evarandelzhofer.com


Various & Gould: City Skins – Marx und Engels
Intervention, exhibition. Marx-Engels-Forum near Rotes Rathaus, Place Internationale and station urbaner kulturen, April – October 2017
Blog

Using the symbolic strength of the ‚monument’ as a projection surface for society, a discourse about city planning and the proportionality of centre and periphery will be literally set in motion: a cast of the Marx-Engels monument near the City Hall will be installed on open land opposite Cottbusser Platz Underground Station.

The Berlin-based artist duo Various & Gould have worked in close collaboration since 2005. They graduated at Berlin-Weissensee School of Art under Prof. Alex Jordan in 2010. Various & Gould are known for constantly reinventing themselves. Their creative process is based on the simple but effective formula 1+1=3. Their shared passions for paper, for accidental beauty in everyday life and for public art form the core of their artistic practice.
Various & Gould often deal with socially prominent themes such as work, migration, gender, death, religion or the financial crisis in a playful, intuitive manner. Influenced by (political) poster graphics, Dada and Pop Art, vivid colors combined with typography and encrypted messages are the characteristics of their work.
variousandgould.com


Elizabeth Wood: A Migrant’s Journey (after »Die Winterreise«)
Installation. U5 Cottbusser Platz station (platform), September 2016 – October 2017

Lines from Wilhelm Müller’s poem »Die Winterreise« from 1823/24 tell of a young man who leaves his village in search of peace. In the artistic intervention they represent possible experiences of migrants today in places like Hellersdorf, where there has been tangible hostility.

Elizabeth Wood’s work examines fragmentation, loss and vulnerability; the destabilizing experience of being adrift and removed from all certainty. Using hybrid genres that include text, installation, performance and sound-based works, she integrates the deeply personal with the larger inevitabilities of life. Her work has been shown at Los Angeles LACDA, USA; Museum of Art & History, USA; TIAF London, UK; Mitte in der Pampa, DE. She lives and works in Vancouver, British Columbia.
woodeart.com

Künstler_innen

Katrin Glanz: Hellersdorfer Tanzplatz
Offene Tanzveranstaltung. Place Internationale und Kastanienboulevard
Mai – September 2017

Tanzen verbindet, öffnet die Herzen und durchbricht Sprachbarrieren. Unterschiedliche Orte Hellersdorfs werden für Anwohner_innen und Besucher_innen in einen offenen Tanzplatz verwandelt und temporär zum Treffpunkt für internationale Geselligkeit. Getanzt werden Kettentänze, Paarkreistänze und Mitmach-Tänze.

Termine sonntags von 15–18h:
28.5.2017 Place Internationale Süd (Maxie-Wander-Straße)
18.6.2017 Place Internationale Nordost (Carola-Neher-Straße)
17.9.2017 Kastanienboulevard, vor ehem. Kaufhalle

Katrin Glanz, geb. 1967 in Berlin, hat an der Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee und an der École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux–Arts Paris studiert. Im Zentrum der künstlerischen Arbeit von Katrin Glanz steht immer wieder die Frage „Wie (zusammen) leben?“ (Aktion 2015). In ihren temporären Interventionen und performativ-dialogischen Aktionen der letzten Jahre geht die Berliner Künstlerin dieser Frage in offen angelegten Projekten nach, in denen meist die aktive Mitarbeit des Gegenüber gefragt ist. Zudem greifen die Arbeiten von Katrin Glanz dabei gezielt so in unseren postmodernen Alltag ein, dass von ihnen diverse pragmatische Alternativen zum real existierenden Neoliberalismus aufgezeigt werden. (Raimar Stange)
katringlanz.de


Claude Gomis & Saskia Köbschall: Laboratorium der Solidarität
Installation. U5 Kaulsdorf-Nord (Fußgängerbrücken), Oktober 2016 – Oktober 2017
Diskussionsabend. station urbaner kulturen, Januar 2017

Gemeinsam mit Bewohner_innen und Expert_innen wird Wissen über Solidarität und Zusammenleben rund um den U-Bhf. Kaulsdorf-Nord zusammengetragen. Die Untersuchung betrachtet die politische, visuelle und diskursive Landschaft. Welche Formen der antirassistischen Solidarität gibt es? Welche Bedeutung haben die Solidaritätsbewegungen der DDR mit dem Kampf gegen Apartheid und mit der Bevölkerung Vietnams für das Zusammenleben heute?

Claude Gomis ist ein in Dakar (Senegal) geborener und in New York City (USA) lebender Musiker und Künstler. Er verbrachte seine Kindheit damit, als Tänzer und Percussionist mit seinem Vater Rudy Gomis, dem Gründer des Orchestra Baobab, auf Tour zu gehen. Nach seinem Abschluss an der École Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Dakar zog Gomis nach New York und tourte mit Bands wie Midnite und Sadao Watanabe. Er veröffentlichte zwei Soloalben, die senegalesische Musiktraditionen mit Jazz, Afrobeat und Blues zusammenbringen.

Saskia Köbschall ist eine in Berlin lebende Kulturmanagerin, Kuratorin und Anthropologin sowie die Managerin des Kunstraumes SAVVY Contemporary Berlin. Sie schloss ihr MA in Anthropologie als Fulbright Stipendiatin an der New School for Social Research in New York ab. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit ist die Aufarbeitung von Kolonialgeschichte und ihre Auswirkungen auf die Gegenwart im Kontext zeitgenössischer Kunstprojekte.
savvy-contemporary.com


Laura Horelli: Namibia Today
Plakate. U5 Schillingstraße (Bahnsteig), Februar – Oktober 2017

Großplakate mit Titelseiten der Zeitung ‚Namibia Today’ aus den 1970er und 1980er Jahren verweisen auf die Kolonialgeschichte Deutschlands und den historischen Kontext Ost-/West-Berlins. Damals bestanden enge politische Verbindungen zwischen der Herausgeberin SWAPO (South West Africa People’s Organisation), Namibia und der DDR. Die Zeitung wurde von der Erfurter Druckerei ‚Fortschritt’ gedruckt.

Laura Horelli (*1976 Helsinki, Finnland) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Ihre Arbeiten mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Videofilm untersuchen die Schnittstellen von privaten und öffentlichen Räumen. Sie studierte an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule, Frankfurt/M, wo sie Meisterschülerin von Thomas Bayrle war (2002), sowie an der Akademie der Künste, Helsinki, Department of Time and Space, MA (2001). Sie nahm an mehreren Biennalen teil, z.B. Momentum, Norwegen (2013), Ars, Kiasma, Helsinki (2001, 2011), Biennale di Venezia (2001, 2009), Manifesta 5, San Sebastian (2004). Sie hatte Einzelausstellungen in Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2014), Berlinische Galerie (2013), Neuer Berliner Kunstverein n.b.k. (2011), Goethe-Institut, Nairobi (2010) und Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck (2004). Ihre Filme wurden in Filmfestivals wie Kasseler Dokfest (2013), Transmediale (2013, 2012), CPH:DOXS (2009) und Diagonale, Graz (2009) gezeigt. Horellis neuester Film »Jokinen« wird bei der 67. Berlinale Forum Expanded und parallel zu ihrer Ausstellung »Namibia Today« im Rahmen von Kunst in Untergrund nGbK Berlin gezeigt. 2007 war sie Gastprofessorin für Bewegte Bilder und Fotografie an der Universität der Künste, Berlin. Der Berliner Senat vergab Horelli 2011 den Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis. Im Jahr 2012 erhielt sie ein 5-jähriges Künstlerstipendium des finnisches Staates. Laura Horelli wird durch die Galerie Barbara Weiss, Berlin vertreten.
laurahorelli.com


Anna Kowalska: Endlich zuhause?
Ein Projekt zum Architekturwettbewerb 1994 für die Siedlung »Alte Hellersdorferstraße«
Ausstellung, Performance und Installation. station urbaner kulturen, Alte Hellersdorferstraße, Kastanienboulevard, Oktober 2016 – Oktober 2017

Die experimentellen Entwürfe der Architekten Lucien & Simone Kroll von 1994 für den Umbau der Siedlung »Alte Hellersdorferstraße« werden mit heutigen Bewohner_innen und damals Beteiligten untersucht. Welche Kriterien des Wettbewerbs bestehen bis heute? Welche Utopien der Wohn- und Lebensräume der Großwohnsiedlungen? Welche Möglichkeiten zur Selbstbestimmung?

Anna Kowalska ist Künstlerin, Autorin und Übersetzerin. Studium der Anthropologie in Wien und Schule für künstlerische Photographie bei Friedl Kubelka. Sie arbeitet hauptsächlich mit dem Medium Fotografie zu den Themen öffentlicher Raum, Architektur, Geschichte und Erinnerung. Diverse Ausstellungen und Projekte, u. a. Post-Diasporas: Voyages and Missions, kuratiert von Olga Kopenkina, Moskau Biennale, 2005; Zur Tektonik der Geschichte, (2005 – 2009) kuratiert von A. Domesle und M. Krenn; Strukturelle Gewalt (Video), gemeinsam mit Simone Bader, Wien 2000. Stipendienaufenthalte in Japan, Italien und Deutschland.


Diana Lucas-Drogan: Die Haut von Hellersdorf
Workshops und Performances in öffentlichen Räumen, Ausstellung in der station urbaner kulturen, September 2016 – Oktober 2017
Blog

Die Rechte und Nichtrechte an städtischer Teilhabe von Geflüchteten in Hellersdorf werden in Kooperation mit der Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin und der Gemeinschaftsunterkunft Carola-Neher-/Maxie-Wander-Straße untersucht. Die Probleme der vorherrschenden Prozesse und deren Repräsentation werden diskutiert. Die bürokratischen Abläufe werden auf Kleidern nachgezeichnet.

Diana Lucas-Drogan (Berlin) arbeitet als freischaffende Künstlerin und Architektin. Sie ist Mitbegründerin und Teil des Redaktionsteams von »Stadtaspekte« und arbeitet an sozio-politischen Counter-Mappings und Notationen über die räumlichen Ermächtigung und städtischer Teilhabe von Geflüchteten und Akteuren in Europa. Ihre jüngsten Arbeiten präsentierte sie im HKW (»Connecting Spaces – digital, urban and trans-local relations and strategies«), Kunstbiennale GORKI (Herbstsalon »Berlin Field Recodings. Mappings along the Refugee Complex«), xhibit Wien (besten Graduiertenausstellung), Atelierhaus Wien (Future Lectures »Verbindungsräume – transkulturelle Aspekte in der Architektur«) und Galerie 44 (»Refugees und Sichtbarkeit«) in Leonding. Österreich. Sie hält Vorträge und lädt zu Workshops über »performative-embodied Mapping« an der HBK Braunschweig, TU und HU Berlin. Für ihre Arbeit »Haut von Hellersdorf« arbeitet sie mit qualitativen Methoden der Raumforschung zusammen mit den Studierenden der Alice-Salomon Hochschule. Für ihre Diplomarbeit an der Akademie der bildenden Künste, Wien erhielt sie den hoch dotierten Anerkennungspreis 2015.
lucasvandrogan.tumblr.com, hautvonhellersdorf.tumblr.com, stadtaspekte.de


Ellen Nonnenmacher und Eva Randelzhofer: Wildwuchs & Ordnung
Aktion, Installation. Place Internationale, station urbaner kulturen, Pavillon auf dem Kastanienboulevard und weitere Orte im öffentlichen Raum zwischen IGA und U5.
April – Oktober 2017

In kollektiven Aktionen werden Pflanzensamen gesammelt, getauscht, verstreut und gewässert. Mit dem Prozess des Aussähens von Wildwuchssamen werden Fragen zu Eigentum, Umverteilung und Ermächtigung ‚von unten’ in den sich neu ordnenden Stadtgebieten entlang der U-Bahnlinie 5 aufgeworfen.

Ellen Nonnenmacher lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin und Grafikerin in Berlin. Nach dem Studium an der HfbK Hamburg arbeitete sie in den Künstlerinnengruppen frauen•und•technik, -Innen und OldBoysNetwork. Zusammen mit Helene von Oldenburg entwickelte sie künstlerische Brettspiele zu den Themen Viren, Wasserverteilung und Datensicherheit. Als Künstlerin leitet sie partizipative Projekte der Kulturellen Bildung an Schulen.

Eva Randelzhofer lebt und arbeitet als freischaffende Künstlerin und Kunstvermittlerin in Berlin. In ihrer Arbeit entwickelt sie kreative Systeme. Diese können die Form von Malerei, Installationen, Interventionen oder partizipativen Workshopformaten annehmen. Räumliche und auch systemische Veränderung werden als künstlerische Intervention sichtbar und erfahrbar.
evarandelzhofer.com

Various & Gould: City Skins – Marx und Engels
Intervention, Ausstellung. Marx-Engels-Forum in der Nähe des Roten Rathaus, Place Internationale, station urbaner kulturen
April – Oktober 2017
Blog

Das Marx-Engels-Denkmal in Mitte wird beispielhaft benutzt, um einen Diskurs über Symbolkraft im öffentlichen Raum, über Stadtplanung und die Verhältnismäßigkeit von Zentrum und Peripherie ‚in Bewegung’ zu setzen. Eine Abformung des Denkmals wird auf der Grünfläche am Cottbusser Platz installiert.

Various & Gould arbeiten seit 2005 als Duo zusammen und widmen sich ihrem gemeinsamen Werk. Im Jahr 2010 haben beide ihr Studium an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee abgeschlossen und bei Prof. Alex Jordan ihr Diplom gemacht. Various & Gould sind oft Grenzgänger auf verschiedenen Gebieten. Sie stehen für die schlichte aber wirkungsvolle Formel: 1 + 1 = 3. Gemeinsame Interessen wie die Liebe für Papier, die Begeisterung für zufällige Schönheit im Alltag und vor allem die Arbeit im öffentlichen Raum, bilden die Grundlage für ihre Kollaboration. Siebdruck und Collage sind ihre Leidenschaft. Auf meist spielerische Weise nehmen sie sozialrelevante Themen wie Arbeit, Migration, Gender, Tod, Globalisierung, Religion oder die Finanzkrise in Angriff. Ihre Werke sind beeinflusst von (politischer) Plakatgrafik, Dada und Pop Art. Sie zeichnen sich oft durch eine starke Farbigkeit und eine vieldeutige Verknüpfung von Symbolen, Assoziationen und Stilen aus.
variousandgould.com


Elizabeth Wood: A Migrant’s Journey (after »Die Winterreise«)
Installation. U5 Cottbusser Platz (Bahnsteig), September 2016 – Oktober 2017

Gedichtzeilen aus Wilhelm Müllers »Die Winterreise« von 1823/24 erzählen von einem jungen Mann, der sein Dorf verlässt, um Frieden zu suchen. In der Intervention stehen sie für mögliche heutige Erfahrungen von Migrant_innen an Orten wie Hellersdorf, an denen es spürbare Anfeindungen gegeben hat.

Die künstlerische Arbeit von Elizabeth Wood untersucht Begrifflichkeiten wie Fragmentierung, Verlust, Verletzlichkeit und Zustände wie destabilisierende Erlebnisse des Abgekoppeltseins und der Verunsicherung. In gemischten Genres wie Text, Installation, Performance und Audioarbeiten verknüpft sie Persönliches mit dem Unvermeidlichen des Lebens. Ihre Arbeit wurde in Los Angeles LACDA (USA), Museum of Art & History (USA); TIAF London (UK) ausgestellt. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Vancouver, British Columbia. woodeart.com